New Build Update: Kitchen Design

While we are waiting for the next phase of the build to be completed, I am distracting myself with the finer details. First up is the kitchen and laundry design. We are using the fabulous P&K Joinery since they did such a great job on the ‘urban luxe’ renovation (more photos of that renovation to come). These were some of my inspiration pics.

…and the space we have to play with:

kitchen-from-corridor-jan-2017kitchen-jan-2017kitchen-family-jan-2017

Part of the layout was dictated by the plumbing as we had already decided to have the sink in the kitchen island and the Architect had worked in a separate pantry that will double as a breakfast preparation area and house the smaller appliances like the toaster, kettle and coffee machine. I also decided early on that I wanted to integrate the fridge and freezer so the kitchen design came together very easily.

kitchen-layout-downerkitchen-3d-downer

The Designer suggested ‘bookending’ the cooktop with the fridge and freezer and joining the two with a bank of overhead cupboards. I chose a beautiful textured timber veneer by New Age Veneers called ‘Black Pearl’ to highlight this area and again on the adjacent oven and pantry wall to tie the two together and again on the back and end panel of part of the island.

I had seen a divine image of some joinery that looked like copper overlaid with perforated stainless steel. We tried to replicate that look with a narrow bank of overhead cupboards above the cooktop, set back slightly from the cupboards above. Since the first two finishes are quite dramatic and you have to walk past a double height brick feature wall to get to the kitchen, I opted for a soft, plain off-white stone by Caesarstone called ‘Fresh Concrete’ for the benchtops, splashback and part of the island back and end panel. The drawers on the inside of the island and below the cooktop, and the joinery in the walk-through pantry and laundry will all be in Laminex ‘Ghost Gum‘.

kitchen-finishes

Now I just need to find the perfect bench stools! The back panel of the island behind the breakfast bar will be in the black veneer. So perhaps a colour that complements the perforated copper/stainless steel perforated cupboards? I rather like the Seb barstool by Jardan and the HS650 stool by Hunt Furniture. Any other ideas?

2 thoughts on “New Build Update: Kitchen Design

  1. Gorgeous space – love that raked ceiling and windows for days! All your ideas and inspiration pics are gorgeous. I have black timber veneer in my home too and it’s a stunning feature and much easier to maintain than people think. I’m looking forward to seeing how the perforated steel turns out, very different and I love a bit of bling in the kitchen. Fingers crossed you love how the space comes together. And on bar stools, I looked high and low but couldn’t find any that I loved enough to justify the high price tags so ended up with $25 Kmart bargains that I actually really love, ha ha!

    Like

    1. Thanks Gina! I noticed that the images I liked the most used very limited materials but I found it really hard to pull back and essentially choose a black and white kitchen.
      I love the colour palette in yours, and the black veneer is the perfect backdrop to make that copper tap stand out.
      It sounds like I might have to wait till the kitchen is in before deciding on the stools. I’d be stoked if I found some I liked for $25!

      Like

Leave a Reply

