Kitchen Design (the extra fun part)

Kitchens are up there with my top three favourite rooms to design and I am beyond excited to see this one come together. It’s not a large space but is part of an open plan dining/family room and faces large glass doors overlooking a small courtyard that opens up to the rest of the back yard.

I wanted tonnes of storage in this house because homes built around here in the 50’s didn’t have much. I asked the Design Consultant to run the joinery the full length of the kitchen and dining room wall and they suggested incorporating a display niche at the dining end which I think is a really nice touch.

FullSizeRender (18)
Kitchen/Dining layout
FullSizeRender (17)
Kitchen/Dining joinery (back wall)
FullSizeRender (20)
Kitchen joinery (side wall)

 

I decided to keep the colour palette fairly neutral (white) so that the new owners can accessorise in any colours they choose but tried to inject a bit of personality with a matte charcoal island bench, and marble look splashback with box canopy rangehood and suspended open shelving in timber and metal. The Kitchen/Dining/Family is a sunken living area and I’ve chosen spotted gum timber floors to separate it from the Lounge Room and also ‘warm it up’. These are some of my inspiration pics.

IMG_6460www.stylehome.comIMG_6387IMG_6388

 


4 thoughts on “Kitchen Design (the extra fun part)

    1. Thanks so much Gina! You know when you stare at it for so long you’re not really sure what it looks like anymore? I think there’s a bit of that so hopefully it turns out 🙃

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yes, they look fab! I really like the subdued colour palettes and extra deep benchtops with space for plants and chopping boards etc at the back. I am also a sucker for oodles of bench space, some of those islands are huuuge!

        Like

Leave a comment